The Undergradaute Student Association Logo

printout letterhead

Mandatory Student Fee Referendum and Officer Election | April 21 - April 23



SA Referendum | Wednesday 4/21/2021 at 10:00 a.m. - Friday 4/23/2021 at 5:00 p.m.


It is time to vote on the Student Association Mandatory Fee. This is the fee that funds all SA Events, Clubs, Services, and Advocacy. Without the mandatory fee the best parts of being an undergrad at UB are gone until at least 2023 -- we would have to cancel Spring and Fall Fest, say goodbye to Homecoming Carnival and the Comedy Series, and be done with International Fiesta. The 160+ Clubs funded by SA would receive budgets of $0 and SA would no longer be able to provide no-cost services such as legal consultations, tutoring, and the food pantry. 

We know this year was far from normal, but in-person events are coming back -- and this vote decides funding for the next two years. A few things to note: this vote is called a referendum but it’s exactly the same as a vote. Also, the way the question is worded is confusing, you are asked to choose between a mandatory or voluntary fee but you are really deciding YES or NO.  

Voting mandatory is the same as voting YES to SA and student-run programing. Voting voluntary is the same as voting NO and canceling SA and student-run programming. Click here to read FAQs about the Mandatory Fee and SA generally


Mandatory Fee Events Clubs Advocacy Servoces
Voluntary Fee No Student run Programming





SA Election Info:

University at Buffalo Student Association Inc. (“SA”) is UB’s undergraduate student government. UB undergraduate students are elected by their peers to positions of President, Vice President and Treasurer during the annual election of officers, which will take place Wednesday 4/21/21 at 10:00 a.m. – Friday 4/23/21 at 5:00 p.m.  The student activity fee referendum and election of officers take place at the same time.

Any candidate that submitted a statement to be displayed, are posted below. This year, the following candidates are running for these positions:


Nicholas Singh – No Statement submitted


Vice President:

Montana Desabio – Click here for the Candidate Statement

Steven Holguin – No Statement submitted



Austin Wolfgang - Click here for the Candidate Statement